ACIS has a Chair and three committees as its basic organisational structure.


The Chair of ACIS for 2019-2021 is Catherine Kovesi, Senior Lecturer in the History Discipline at the University of Melbourne.

Management Committee

The Management Committee is responsible for the overall direction of ACIS. Its members are academics from universities in Australia and New Zealand, drawn from different states and from the principal areas taught under the rubric of Italian Studies – language, literature, history, politics, culture, film, society, migration studies. The Committee includes an Executive Officer, representing UWA, and 2 Cassamarca lecturers.  Meetings are conducted via e-mail and in person at the biennial conferences.

The current membership of the ACIS Management Committee is:

  • Catherine Kovesi, Chair, History, The University of Melbourne
  • John Kinder, Deputy Chair, Linguistics, University of Western Australia
  • Loretta Baldassar, Migration Studies, University of Western Australia
  • Diana Glenn, Literature, Flinders University
  • Sally Hill, Literature and Visual Arts, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Catherine Dewhirst, History, University of Southern Queensland
  • Luciana d’Arcangeli, Cinema and Theatre, Flinders University
  • Brigid Maher, Literature and Translation, La Trobe University
  • Giorgia Alù, Literature and Visual Studies, The University of Sydney
  • Susanna Scarparo, Film and Gender Studies, The University of Sydney
  • Nick Eckstein, History, The University of Sydney
  • Carolyn James, History, Monash University
  • John Hajek, Language and Linguistics, The University of Melbourne

The Committee’s Executive Officer is the Director of the Office of Development and Alumni Relations at UWA.

Review (formerly Lectureships) Committee

The Committee is responsible for liaising with the participating universities over the Cassamarca positions and for the reporting process to the Cassamarca Foundation. Its current members are:

  • Catherine Kovesi, ex officio, Chair
  • Loretta Baldassar
  • Susanna Scarparo

Scholarships Committee

The Committee is responsible for assessing the applications for the annual ACIS – Cassamarca Scholarship(s) for study in Italy by Honours, Master by Research and PhD students enrolled in Australasian universities. Its current members are:

  • Nick Eckstein, History, University of Sydney (Chair)
  • Carolyn James, History, Monash University
  • Bernadette Luciano, Film and Gender Studies, University of Auckland